INDIAN ASSOCIATION OF PATHOLOGISTS AND MICROBIOLOGISTS,





President Dr Rajan G

Secretary/Treasurer
Dr Nobin Babu

Local Executive Members

Dr Asiq Sideeque (Malappuram) Dr Sheila Thomas (Kozhikode) Dr Praveen K V (Thrissur)

Dr Letha (Kottayam) Dr Aria Jyothi (Alappuzha)

Dr Geetha S (Trivandrum) Dr Prema N S (Kollam)

MINUTES OF 84TH IAPM KERALA CHAPTER MEETING HELD AT GOVERNMENT T D MEDICAL COLLEGE, ALAPPUZHA, ON 08/03/2020

The inaugural function started at 9:00 AM with a prayer. **Dr Rema Priyadarsini**, Professor and HOD of Pathology, Government TD Medical College, Alappuzha, welcomed the gathering. **Dr Rajan G**, President, IAPM, Kerala Chapter, delivered the Presidential address. **Dr Pushpalatha M**, Principal, Government TD Medical College, Alappuzha, felicitated the gathering and inaugurated the meeting. **Dr Shameem K Ummer Ali**, Additional Professor of Pathology, TDMC, Alappuzha, and Organising Secretary of the meeting, proposed the vote of thanks.

Following the inaugural function, **Dr Gomathy S, Head of the Department of Nephrology**, gave the guest lecture on "Renal Biopsy from a Clinician's Perspective". The talk was well appreciated by the audience.

Business meeting was conducted at 10:15 AM.

The minutes of the last meeting held at AIMS, Kochi, was passed.

The following matters were discussed and decisions were taken.

- 1. The next Chapter meeting is to be held at **BELIEVER'S CHURCH MEDICAL COLLEGE**, **THIRUVALLA**, on Saturday, **08/08/2020**.
- The topic for slide seminar was decided as **Immunohistochemistry** and the moderator will be **Dr Elizabeth Joseph,** Professor of Pathology, Believer's Church Medical College, Thiruvalla.
- 2. When the matter of the next National CME was brought up, Dr Ajit Nambiar, HOD of Pathology, Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences, Kochi, informed the house about the APNA conference to be conducted by AIMS, Kochi, on January 29, 30 and 31, as a two-and-a-half day event. A proposal to club the National CME with the APNA meeting was made, with Dr Ajit suggesting that the Prof Thangavelu Memorial Oration could be included as part of the APNA meeting. Dr M O Annamma proposed postponing the National CME to the next year. It was also discussed whether the IAPM Chapter Meeting could be held with the APNA meeting, and a final decision regarding the same is to be made later.
 - 3. Dr Rajan G, President, IAPM Kerala Chapter, proposed starting a 2 day workshop for fresher PGs, as an introductory course. He felt it could be first began in Government Medical Colleges. Dr Asiq Sideeque suggested that a protocol has to be set up regarding the same. The idea of an introductory workshop was welcomed by the house. Dr Lilly pointed out that DNB students should

also be included. A tentative plan of starting such a workshop in July was put forward, and the center was to be decided later.

- 4. There was a debate regarding the Guest Lecture in Chapter meetings, with Dr Rajeevan asking whether it is necessary for the lecture to be clinical, while Dr Sheila Thomas asked whether a guest lecture was necessary at all? Dr Annamma pointed out that a clinical guest lecture was very good, and it should continue.
- 5. The next discussion was about the slide seminar and free paper sessions. Dr Neena Mampilly suggested that 13 cases should be discussed, while the website could be used as a platform for the remaining cases. She also requested at least 10 free papers, and requested that this number should not be brought down. Dr Lilly was of the opinion that 10 papers are too much, and Dr Rajan made a suggestion of including the extra papers in the website. Dr Krishna opined that papers should not be cut, with minimum 10 papers to be presented, as the Chapter Meeting is a forum for paper presentation. Dr Rajan pointed out that the problem faced was the limited time available for the same. Dr Aravindan brought to the notice of the house that the number of oral presentations are coming down in international conferences, with the trend of such papers being replaced by poster presentations. A suggestion of making the unselected papers into posters, and considering them for prizes, was made. It was, however, pointed out that when free papers are cut short, research takes a back seat. If time was the constraint, the slide seminar should not go into excess time, and be limited to the two hours allotted. It was also pointed out that the inaugural session could be cut short to save time, with Dr Aravindan supporting a brief inaugural function. Dr Usha Poothiode pointed out that it was not fair to the organizers to cut short the inaugural function. The house finally agreed to a maximum of 15 minutes for the inaugural function. Dr Aravindan suggested to keep the function limited to inauguration only, without felicitations. It was also tentatively agreed to keep the number of free papers to seven, while Dr Neena Mampilly requested the house to promote free papers by consultants. Dr Aravindan pointed out that paper presentation was open to all.
- 6. Following the conclusion of the term of the present secretary, **Dr Nobin Babu** from Calicut was unanimously selected as the new Secretary / Treasurer of the chapter.

The meeting concluded at 10.45 AM.

After the tea break, a slide seminar on **RENAL BIOPSY** was conducted by **Dr Seethalekshmy N V**, Professor of Pathology, Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences. 13 cases were discussed, followed by 20 spotters. The prize for the best case was shared by **Dr Merin Jaison** (case- *Fibrillary glomerulonephritis*) from **Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences**, and **Dr Anitha Wilson** (case- *scleroderma renal crisis, docetaxel induced*) from **GMC Kozhikode**.

The free paper session commenced at 2.00 PM, and the winner of best paper was **Dr Sreeka J** from **GMC Kozhikode** (*Peritumoral and tumor infiltrating lymphocytes in breast carcinoma and their relation with tumor grade, lymphovascular emboli and nodal metastasis*)

This was followed by the first edition of the quiz for postgraduates, which was conducted by **Dr Aravindan K P. RCC Trivandrum (Dr Rebecca George and Dr Rahul Rajagopal**) finished as winners of the event.

Congratulations to all prize winners!

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm after the Valedictory function. The Chapter President thanked the organizers and all the members.

Dr Rajan G (President)

Dr Nobin Babu (Secretary/Treasurer)